Sab Kuch Milega

India

As I just decided to change the name of my blog, I think this would be a good time to do a little bit of explaining about the new name.  Sab kuch milega, or सब कुछ मिलेगा in Sanskrit, would loosely translate into “everything is possible” in English.  In the four and a half months that I spent travelling the country of India this phrase would not only come to represent my love for the country itself, it would also inspire me to continue travelling and living life to its fullest potential.

When I arrived in India, I heard this phrase just about everywhere that I went.  Whether someone was asking the gentleman at the street stall to buy some toothpaste or or a police officer if they could have a dance party in the middle of a Himalayan forest, this was the response of the Indian people.

For me, no single phrase more adequately describes the country of India than this one. Any idea or goal, no matter how far fetched it may be, seems possible there.  All you need is to ask the right person and, of course, have the required bakshish (roughly equivalent to tip, but more of a bribe) to make it happen.  This idea of anything you can dream of right at your fingertips made travelling in India one of the most exciting things that I have ever done.

This is not to say that this mentality does not come without frustration.  Sometimes I would find myself wasting weeks of time on the belief that something was possible and just around the corner.  You see, time in India is not the same as what we are accustomed to in the United States.  When an Indian person uses this phrase, what he means is that it is possible that you can do it tomorrow, however it is also possible that you will not be able to it for a couple of days.  Or maybe ever.

This is the part that it took me a while to get used too.  At first I would get upset when someone would tell me it was possible and then the next day tell me it was not going to happen.  Eventually, however, I got used to it and would take it in stride, always knowing that at least the chance, no matter how remote, was there.

elephant

When I finally left India for Southeast Asia, I carried this motto with me.  Whether I wanted to ride and swim with elephants in the north of Thailand or hang out with orangutans in the rain forest of Indonesia, this phrase helped to keep me focused on the dreams I had and never allow the sense of defeat to outweigh my desire to accomplish them.  It helped me to never give up, no matter how bad things seemed at the moment.

In the years since I went to India, this phrase has stayed with me and helped me to focus on my goals.  I came to  realize that the biggest obstacle in between people and accomplishing their goals is the belief that it is possible to accomplish what it is that you desire.  After you believe that it is possible the rest falls on you to follow through.  So every time that I start to feel discouraged with life and think that I am not going to be able to do something, I think of those amazing months in India and think,  “ kab such milega”.

 

Leave a Reply

